Only 10 teams for this year's Champions League

There will be only 10 teams in this year's CL T20 as opposed to the 12 that participated in the inaugural in 2009, after the English Cricket Board(ECB) expressed their incapability to participate as their domestic season clashed with the tournament's dates.

English teams were forced out after their cricket board declined to adjust the dates of their domestic season to avoid a clash with the profitable league. The England and Wales Cricket Board had proponed the dates after being requested by the BCCI initially.

But when the Indian Board rejigged the Champions League T20 dates for a 2nd time, the ECB said it was left with no room to make adjustments again.

The tournament is a joint project between the cricket board of India (BCCI), Australia (CA) and South Africa (CSA).

Already nine of the ten teams for the tournament in South Africa, scheduled between September 10 and 26, are confirmed. Only the tenth team is to be known and that will be confirmed once the West Indian domestic T20 competition ends in July. The tournament will feature 23 matches, with the format, schedule and venues to be decided in the coming weeks.

The teams that have already qualified for the 2010 Champions League T20 are: Chennai Super Kings (India), Mumbai Indians (India), Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), South Australian Redbacks (Australia), Victorian Bushrangers (Australia), Warriors (South Africa), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Central Stags (New Zealand) and Wayamba Elevens (Sri Lanka).

No comments:

Post a Comment