Sri Lanka have won the ICC T20 WC 2014

Sri Lanka's stunning victory over India in the ICC T20 WC final underlines how success in hit-and-run cricket depends not on form, but on how a team performs over those three hours in the field. 

MS Dhoni's Indians went into Sunday's final in Dhaka as the only unbeaten team in the tournament, having coasted through four league matches and the semi-final against South Africa. 

But they faltered when it mattered most, their vaunted batting line-up managing just 130-4 in 20 overs against a disciplined Sri Lankan attack after being sent in to bat on a sluggish pitch. 

Sri Lanka raced past the modest target with 13 balls to spare, with Kumar Sangakkara -- playing his last T20 international, like his long-time team-mate Mahela Jayawardene -- leading the way with a glorious unbeaten 52. 

The win sparked frenzied celebrations in the Sri Lankan dressing room, as jubilant players lifted Sangakkara and Jayawardene on their shoulders before doing a victory lap around the Sher-e-Bangla stadium. 

India, meanwhile, failed in their bid to become the first team to hold all three major limited-overs titles, having won the 50-over World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy 2013. 

Virat Kohli continued his stupendous batting form with a brilliant 77 off 58 balls that earned him the player of the tournament award for being the leading scorer with 319 runs.

No comments:

Post a Comment