Rajasthan Royals script a Super Over victory over Kolkata Knight Riders

Yusuf PathanThe Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and he elected to bowl first. The Newlands pitch had offered help to the seamers and spinners in an equal proportion during the earlier games. Kolkata made four changes in their line-up. Sanjay Bangar, Ajanda Mendis, Ajit Agarkar and Anureet Singh were the ones included in the final eleven. Rajasthan also had three changes in their team. They brought in Rob Quiney in place of Tyron Henderson while Swapnil Asnodkar made way for Abhishek Raut. The 25 year old Paul Valthaty was also included in the team.

Chris GayleAfter a heady contest in Durban where Delhi won by nine runs from Chennai, it needed a battle like this to keep the adrenalin flowing in the DLF Indian Premier League. The teams tied scores at 150 each in 20 overs and it was the platform on which a rookie paceman Kamran Khan was launched into limelight.

The teenager Kamran Khan from Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh first took three for 18 in his four overs to help Rajasthan Royals bowl out Kolkata Knight Riders for 150 despite a gallant 46 by Sourav Ganguly. He then bowled a 16-run over and dismissed Chris Gayle to set the stage for Yusuf Pathan to steal the boom.

Sourav GangulySourav Ganguly hit the first six of a free hit in the IPL 2009 after Munaf Patel bowled a no-ball.

The Rajasthan – Kolkata Knight Riders match was the first ever tied match in the IPL.

'Super Over' was employed for the first time ever in the IPL after the Rajasthan Royals – Kolkata Knight Riders match ended in a tie.

No comments:

Post a Comment