Sunil Gavaskar removed from IPL Governing Council

In a main overhaul of the Indian Premier League, the BCCI dropped cricket Master Sunil Gavaskar from the IPL Governing Council, which was reduced to a 7-member panel with tenure of just one year instead of five.

The decision to drop SunilGavaskar from the IPL Governing Council was taken by the Cricket Board in its Annual General Meeting (AGM), which also appointed temporary chairman Chirayu Amin as full-time chief of the T20 league.

"The IPL Governing Council constitution was changed today at the AGM. The period of the Governing Council, which is a sub-committee, of the Board has been reduced to one year from five years," BCCI president Shashank Manohar told reporters at a press conference after the Annual General Meeting.

"It will have five members and two cricketers will be part of the committee. Earlier, cricketers were used to be paid Rs 1 crore but BCCI decided no payment will be made from now onwards," he said.


  1. I would like to share it with all my friends and hope they will like it too.