SA won by 6 wickets against Pakistan in the first T20

Fast bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe and off-spinner Johan Botha took three wickets apiece to help South Africa beat Pakistan by six wickets in the first of two Twenty20 matches on Tuesday.

Tsotsobe, with a career-best 3-16, and skipper Botha (3-31) led a spirited South African bowling to restrict Pakistan to a paltry 119 at the Abu Dhabi Stadium in a match whose income will go to flood victims in Pakistan. Over two million people were displaced in the worst-ever floods in Pakistan.

Jean-Paul Duminy hit an elegant 41 while Colin Ingram remained unbeaten with 46 as South Africa reached the target after losing three early wickets for 26. The two left-handers shared a solid 66-run partnership for the fourth wicket after Faster Shoaib Akhtar gave Pakistan some hope with the quick wickets of opener Loots Bosman and AB de Villiers in the 3rd over.

Ingram hit two towering sixes and four boundaries during his 38-ball knock. Duminy hit five boundaries as the two dominated the Pakistan bowling which initially looked threatening. Botha said he was happy to lead the series. "It was a clinical performance and I am happy at the way the young guns stepped in after we lost three early wickets especially Ingram and Duminy," said Botha. Duminy, who also took two beautiful catches, was declared man-of-the-match.

Earlier, Tsotsobe and off-spinner Botha bowled tightly to derail Pakistan, who won the toss and batted on a flat pitch.

Misbah-ul-Haq, recalled after being axed following the World Twenty20 in May this year, top-scored with 27 with a six and two boundaries. Captain Shahid Afridi hit a rapid seven-ball 25 before he became one of Botha's three victims. Pakistan had raced to 16 in the second over before Tsotsobe removed openers Imran Farhat (10) and Shahzaib Hasan (nine) in the sixth.

Botha then removed Mohammad Hafeez (13), Afridi and Abdul Razzaq (four) to end Pakistan's hopes of reaching a respectable total. Pakistan coach Waqar Younis was disappointed over the poor batting. "We scored 25-30 runs less than we expected," said Waqar, whose team lost the last six wickets for a mere 35 runs. We need to bat with strategy in the next game."

This is Pakistan's home series shifted to United Arab Emirates due to security fears. The two teams meet in the second Twenty20 on Wednesday.

They then play the first two one-day internationals and the second Test in Abu Dhabi. Dubai will stage the last three one-day and the first Test.

No second chance for Rajasthan Royals: Shashank Manohar

BCCI president Shashank Manohar dismissed speculations that past IPL team Rajasthan Royals will get a lifeline from the parent body after the owners wrote a letter to BCCI demanding a second chance.

The champions of the 1st edition of IPL 2008, were expelled from the cash-rich league last Sunday on grounds on a variety of irregularities along with another high profile franchise Rajasthan Royals.

Shashank Manohar"They may have written a letter but where does the question of revoking the decision come up?" BCCI president Manohar told PTI when contacted at his Nagpur residence.

Manohar further added, "We have taken a final decision. That remains and no further decisions will be taken in this regard."

Last Sunday after the IPL governing council meeting Manohar had told reporters that there were violations in agreement and breach of contract on the part of the franchise that has led to the expulsion. There were discrepancies regarding the shareholding outline and ownership transfers which the board claimed were not sorted out.

Brett Lee signs up for New Zealand domestic T20 stint

Australian faster Brett Lee has signed to play domestic T20 cricket in New Zealand later this year with the Wellington Firebirds, the club said Monday.

Brett LeeBrett Lee, looking for as much match-time as possible as he seeks a career swansong at ICC World Cup 2011, will entrance for Wellington against Auckland on December 14, Cricket Wellington chief executive Gavin Larsen said.

"It’s marvelous to have secured the services of Brett and his record speaks for itself," Larsen said.

"He's a gifted all-round sportsperson who has proven himself a true match winner for Australia in over a decade at the highest level."

The 33-year-old will miss the first half of the New Zealand domestic competition because of prior commitments to his home state New South Wales but will play five matches and be available for the final on January 2.

Lee retired from Test cricket earlier this year after a string of injuries but is worried to cap his international career by appearing for Australia at the World Cup 2011.

Kings XI and Rajasthan Royals agreements are terminated

In a radical step, the Indian Cricket Board unanimously decided to terminate the franchise agreements of Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab, while thrifty the newly-inducted Kochi team.

The Kochi franchisee has been issued a notice and has been given 10 days time by the BCCI, asking them to decide all their disputes.

The decision means that the 4th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will feature eight teams for the time being despite the addition of two new teams in Kochi and Pune. If Kochi is also scrapped, then of course there will be only 7 teams.

The decision was taken at disaster meeting of the IPL Governing council at MCA Recreation Centre here.

"It was unanimously decided that the franchise agreements with Kings XI and Rajasthan Royals be terminated forthwith based on the Legal opinions obtained by BCCI in the matters," the BCCI said in a release.

"It was further unanimously decided to issue a notice to the unincorporated joint venture holding the Kochi franchise calling upon them to resolve all their disputes and form a company which will hold the IPL franchise rights."

"Accordingly, P R Raman, advocate for BCCI has been given instructions to issue all the three notices," BCCI said.

Zimbabwe in South Africa 2010, Schedule

DateMatch DetailsTime (GMT)Place
Oct 08South Africa v Zimbabwe, 1st T20I16:00*Bloemfontein
Oct 10South Africa v Zimbabwe, 2nd T20I12:30Kimberley
Oct 15South Africa v Zimbabwe, 1st ODI12:30*Bloemfontein
Oct 17South Africa v Zimbabwe, 2nd ODI08:00Potchefstroom
Oct 22South Africa v Zimbabwe, 3rd ODI12:30*Benoni

* - Day-night Match....

ICC annual awards 2010

Sachin Tendulkar
Cricketer of the Year: Sachin Tendulkar

ICC Test Cricket Awards:

Virender SehwagTest player of the year: Virender Sehwag

Test team of the year: India

The ICC World Test Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Simon Katich (Aus)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
James Anderson (Eng)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)

ICC ODI Cricket Awards:

AB de VilliersODI player of the year: AB de Villiers

ODI team of the year: Australia

ICC World ODI Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Paul Collingwood (Eng)
Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain)
MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Ryan Harris (Aus)

ICC Emerging player of the year: Steven Finn

Best T20 performance of the year: Brendon McCullum

Spirit of Cricket award: New Zealand

ICC Associate player of the year: Ryan ten Doeschate

Umpire of the year: Aleem Dar from Pakistan

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Shelley Nitschke (Aus)

LG people's choice award: Sachin Tendulkar