Australia in England 2010, ODI Schedule

DateMatch DetailsTime ISTGroundPlace
Jun 17 - ThIreland v Australia, Only ODI15:15Castle AvenueDublin
Jun 22 - TuEngland v Australia, 1st ODI19:00The Rose BowlSouthampton
Jun 24 - ThEngland v Australia, 2nd ODI19:00Sophia GardensCardiff, Wales
Jun 27 - SuEngland v Australia, 3rd ODI15:15Old TraffordManchester
Jun 30 - WeEngland v Australia, 4th ODI17:30Kennington OvalLondon
Jul 03 - SaEngland v Australia, 5th ODI15:15Lord'sLondon

Only 10 teams for this year's Champions League

There will be only 10 teams in this year's CL T20 as opposed to the 12 that participated in the inaugural in 2009, after the English Cricket Board(ECB) expressed their incapability to participate as their domestic season clashed with the tournament's dates.

English teams were forced out after their cricket board declined to adjust the dates of their domestic season to avoid a clash with the profitable league. The England and Wales Cricket Board had proponed the dates after being requested by the BCCI initially.

But when the Indian Board rejigged the Champions League T20 dates for a 2nd time, the ECB said it was left with no room to make adjustments again.

The tournament is a joint project between the cricket board of India (BCCI), Australia (CA) and South Africa (CSA).

Already nine of the ten teams for the tournament in South Africa, scheduled between September 10 and 26, are confirmed. Only the tenth team is to be known and that will be confirmed once the West Indian domestic T20 competition ends in July. The tournament will feature 23 matches, with the format, schedule and venues to be decided in the coming weeks.

The teams that have already qualified for the 2010 Champions League T20 are: Chennai Super Kings (India), Mumbai Indians (India), Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), South Australian Redbacks (Australia), Victorian Bushrangers (Australia), Warriors (South Africa), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Central Stags (New Zealand) and Wayamba Elevens (Sri Lanka).

No match-fixing in 3rd IPL 2010: Paul Condon

Outgoing ICC Anti-Corruption chief Paul Condon said he had no evidence to propose there had been any fraud in the 3rd edition of the IPL.

"3rd IPL from a clean cricket point of view seems to have been a very clean event," Paul Condon told a news conference at Lord's.

"There were rumours and unclear allegations about match-fixing in 3rd IPL 2010."

"No one has come forward from within the Indian board or the IPL or franchises or journalists, players or team managers, anyone with any specific allegations about match-fixing in the IPL 2010. All there has been is a nonspecific rumour."

The Anti-Corruption and Security Unit did not monitor the first two IPL Twenty20 competitions. Condon, who has been in accuse of the unit since it was set up 10 years ago to deal with a match-fixing scandal which resulted in life bans for three international captains, will be succeeded by former senior British police offical Ronnie Flanagan on July 1.

Clarke wants to continue as Australia Twenty20 captain

Michael Clarke's leadership qualities have come under the scanner in the World T20 in the West Indies, but Michael Clarke said he was enjoying every bit of the duty and wants to continue as Australia's T20 skipper.

"No doubt, I'm disappointed we couldn't win the World T20, win the final, but I've really enjoyed the opportunity," Clarke said yesterday after returning home following Australia's loss to England in the World Twenty20 final in the Caribbean.

"I've loved playing with the guys, I've had a lot of support from people back at home, the people who came and watched the games in the West Indies, and family and friends, so it's been great and I'm enjoying it," he said.

Clarke's future as T20 captain is likely to be decided over the next week as the selectors sit to name the Australian squads for the tour of England, where they will play Tests Series, one day matches and T20 games against Pakistan and the hosts.

He also has the backing of Test skipper Ricky Ponting, who feels Clarke is the future of Australian cricket.

However, it is not Clarke's captaincy that has been a matter of concern but his poor run with the bat.

The right-hander himself admitted that it was high time he reinvent his aggressive manner.

ICC T20 World Cup Team Standings 2010

England Won ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2010

ICC T20 Final - England Beat Australia By 7 wickets

ICC T20 1st Semi Final - Sri Lanka vs England: Eng Won By 7 wickets

ICC T20 2nd Semi Final - Australia vs Pakistan: Aus won by 3 wickets

Group Match Standing:

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D

England had won a major international T20 World Cup

South Africa born batsmen Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen starred as England won their first major one-day title in a 7 wicket victory over Australia in the World T20 final.

England, chasing 148 to win in 20 over, after reducing a formerly unbeaten Australian side at this tournament to eight for three, saw Kieswetter and Pietersen put on 111 for the second wicket at the Kensington Oval.

They finally won with three overs to spare when skipper Paul Collingwood struck Shane Watson for a four as his side finished on 148 for three.

It was the first time England had won a major international one-day event after losing in 3 World Cup finals (1979, 1987 and 1992) and the 2004 Champions Trophy.

England, who detained Australia to 147/6, had an early setback when Michael Lumb's out them seven for one.

But Kieswetter(63) and Pietersen(47) then conquered the Australian bowlers. Pietersen, who faced 31 balls, with six and four fours, was out when he hoisted leg-spinner Steven Smith to David Warner on the long-off boundary line.

And, troublingly for England, 118 for two became 121 for three when Kieswetter was bowled by left-arm faster Mitchell Johnson, having faced 49 balls, with two sixes and seven fours.

But Collingwood and Eoin Morgan saw England home.

Beat in what was a first World T20 final for both the Ashes rivals left an Australia side before unbeaten at the tournament still searching for the one major title that has so far eluded them.

Earlier, David Hussey's 59 kept Australia in the match during an innings where the next best score was Cameron White's 30.

Kieswetter, a former South Africa Under-19 international, then struck medium-pacer Watson for two fours in as many balls

He later launched the all-rounder for a huge six over midwicket.

At the 10-over halfway mark, England were 73 for one compared to Australia's 47 for four.

Australia badly needed a breakthrough but, in Tait's comeback over, Pietersen drove him over his head for a boundary and then struck an even more impressive six high over long-off to bring up England's hundred.